Got the Time in Anguilla?

Travelers may find that they lose their sense of time in beautiful Anguilla

Photo credit: © Ramunas Bruzas | Dreamstime.com

Time in Anguilla
 

Foreign travelers should plan on quickly forgetting their jet lag upon arrival in Anguilla. A watch is the last thing that vacationers will be looking at as the brilliant Caribbean sun reflects off the white sand and blue waters of Anguilla's 33 breathtaking beaches.

Like much of the Caribbean, this overseas territory of the United Kingdom is on Atlantic Standard Time. This time zone places Anguilla four hours behind Greenwich Mean Time, and four or five hours behind London and the rest of the United Kingdom. Travelers visiting Anguilla from most of mainland Europe will experience a time change of five to six hours, depending on the time of the year.

Unlike the United States and other locations, Anguilla does not observe daylight savings time. When daylight savings time is not being observed from October to April, Atlantic Standard Time is one hour ahead of the Eastern Standard Time observed on the east coast of the United States, and four hours ahead of the Pacific Standard Time observed on the West Coast. During daylight savings time, from April to October, Atlantic Standard Time matches Eastern Standard Time and is three hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time. Travelers from North America will experience very little time change as they travel to Anguilla. Daylight savings period was extended from March to November, meaning that the east coast of the United States will be on the same time as Anguilla throughout most of the year.

World Wide Time Comparison for Anguilla

At Noon in Anguilla
City Local Time
Amsterdam 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Brussels 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Hong Kong Midnight (next day)
Istanbul 6:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Los Angeles 8:00 a.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
London 4:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Madrid 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Moscow 7:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Paris 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Sydney 3:00 a.m. (minus 1 hour in daylight savings)

Although time is likely to fly by in such a beautiful island setting, travelers should cherish every moment on Anguilla.

 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.