Got the Time in the Bahamas?

Be prepared to encounter a time difference when traveling to the Bahamas

Photo credit: © Ramunas Bruzas | Dreamstime.com

Time in the Bahamas
 

The Bahamas follows Eastern Standard Time and observes daylight savings time, similar to United States.

Many Caribbean locations do not observe daylight savings time so many nearby locations may be an hour behind "Bahamas time" from April through October. This should be noted for vacationers who plan on island-hopping, as it can affect travel plans and itineraries.

Travelers who are attempting to adjust to the Bahamas time difference or to contact people back home may find the following chart helpful, as it shows how major world cities (and their respective time zones) correspond to Bahamas time:

At 3:00 p.m. in the Bahamas (Standard)
City Local Time
Honolulu 10:00 a.m.
London 8:00 p.m.
Los Angeles 12:00 p.m.
New York 3:00 p.m.
Paris 9:00 p.m.
Tokyo 5:00 a.m. the next day

 

At 3:00 p.m. in the Bahamas (Daylight Savings Time)
City Local Time
Honolulu 9:00 a.m.
London 8:00 p.m.
Los Angeles 12:00 p.m.
New York 3:00 p.m.
Paris 9:00 p.m.
Tokyo 4:00 a.m. the next day
 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.