Got the Time in Belize?

Belize's western location makes its time zone unique in the Caribbean

Hasan Can Balcioglu | Dreamstime.com

Time in Belize
 

Travel to Belize will be easy for many American travelers, who should experience little or no jet lag. Longer time changes will apply to travelers arriving from more distant destinations.

Major cities correspond to Belize time as follows:

GMT-6, Daylight savings period
City Local Time
Difference
Belize 3:00 p.m.
Honolulu 11:00 a.m. (Belize time - four hours)
London 10:00 p.m. (Belize time + seven hours)
Los Angeles 2:00 p.m. (Belize time - one hour)
New York 5:00 p.m. (Belize time + two hours)
Paris 11:00 p.m. (Belize time + eight hours)
Tokyo 6:00 a.m. the next day (Belize time + 15 hours)

 

GMT-6, Non-daylight savings period
City Local Time Difference
Belize 3:00 p.m.
Honolulu 11:00 a.m. (Belize time - four hours)
London 9:00 p.m. (Belize time + six hours)
Los Angeles 1:00 p.m. (Belize time - two hours)
New York 4:00 p.m. (Belize time + one hour)
Paris 10:00 p.m. (Belize time + seven hours)
Tokyo 6 a.m. the next day (Belize time + 15 hours)

Belize does not observe daylight-saving time. During half of the year they are equivalent to Central Standard Time in the United States, but during daylight-saving time, Belize keeps the same clock as Mountain Time in the United States.

 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.