Time Zones of Dominica

It's easy to lose track of time in the rainforests of Dominica

Photo credit: © Richard Goldberg | Dreamstime.com

Time on Dominica
 

While travelers may not find many occasions to look at their watches as they are captivated by waterfalls, rivers, and mountains on Dominica, they will experience a time change when traveling to the Caribbean from foreign destinations.

Dominica is on Atlantic Standard Time, which is four hours behind Greenwich Mean Time. Depending on whether the daylight-saving period is being observed, this places the island four or five hours behind the United Kingdom and five or six hours behind most of Europe.

Dominica does not observe daylight-saving time, meaning that when clocks jump ahead in other locations throughout the world, the time on Dominica stays the same. From October to April, when the daylight-saving period is not in effect, Dominica is one hour ahead of Eastern Standard Time on the East Coast of the United States and four hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time on the West Coast. From April to October, when the daylight-saving period is being observed, the Atlantic Standard Time on Dominica matches Eastern Standard Time and is only three hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time. In 2007, the daylight-saving period will be extended to last from March to November, leaving only a few months out of the year when Atlantic Standard Time will not match Eastern Standard Time. Although the months not included in the daylight-saving period are the most popular tourist travel months, most travelers from North America will be happy to learn that they will experience only a slight time change as they travel to Dominica.

Sample Time Comparisons for Dominica

At 12:00 p.m. on Dominica

City Local Time
Amsterdam 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Brussels 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Hong Kong 12:00 a.m. (next day)
Istanbul 6:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Los Angeles 8:00 a.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
London 4:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Madrid 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Moscow 7:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Paris 5:00 p.m. (plus 1 hour in daylight time)
Sydney 3:00 a.m. (minus 1 hour in daylight time)

Many travelers to Dominica are looking for escape and tranquility among the island's natural beauty. Once they have arrived, travelers are unlikely to concern themselves with time.

 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.