Time Zones of Guadeloupe

Vacationers may experience time changes when visiting Guadeloupe

Photo credit: © Philippehalle | Dreamstime.com

Time in Guadeloupe
 

Guadeloupe's visiors from the United States should not experience much jet lag upon their arrival in the Caribbean. Vacationers from Europe and other destinations, however, may have to adjust to the significant time differences.

Guadeloupe, like much of the Caribbean, observes Atlantic Standard Time. This places the islands four hours behind Greenwich Mean Time. Guadeloupe does not observe daylight savings period.

When daylight savings period is not being observed, from October to April, Guadeloupe will be one hour ahead of the Eastern Standard Time observed on the eastern seaboard of the United States, and four hours ahead of the Pacific Standard Time observed on the Pacific coast. From April to October, when daylight savings period is being observed throughout the world, time in Guadeloupe will match Eastern Standard Time, and be three hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time. Atlantic Standard Time places the islands four or five hours ahead of time in the United Kingdom, and five or six hours ahead of time in Europe. Beginning in 2007, daylight savings period will be extended from March until November.

Time Comparisons for Guadeloupe

At Noon in Guadeloupe

City Local Time
Amsterdam 5:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Brussels 5:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Hong Kong Midnight (next day)
Istanbul 6:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Los Angeles 8:00 a.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
London 4:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Madrid 5:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Moscow 7:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Paris 5:00 p.m.
(plus 1 hour in daylight savings)
Sydney 3:00 a.m.
(minus 1 hour in daylight savings)

No matter what time of year you travel to sunny Guadeloupe, you will always enjoy the beaches, food, shopping, eco-tourism, and daylight on the islands.

 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.