Time Zones of Puerto Rico

Visitors on top of the local time in Puerto Rico get more out of their vacation

Photo credit: © Ruth Peterkin | Dreamstime.com

Time in Puerto Rico
 

If you want to make the most out of every minute of your vacation, you should be prepared to adjust to local time.

Puerto Rico is in the Atlantic time zone, operating one hour ahead of Eastern time. However, the island does not observe daylight-saving time. This means that from April to October, Eastern time is on the same clock as Puerto Rico. From October to April, the East Coast of the United States is one hour behind Puerto Rico.

International travelers visiting Puerto Rico who are attempting to phone their own country may find the following chart helpful.

At 12:00 p.m. in Puerto Rico

City Called: Local Time:
Brussels 5:00 p.m.
Copenhagen 5:00 p.m.
Hong Kong 12:00 a.m. (next day)
Istanbul 6:00 p.m.
Los Angeles 8:00 a.m.
London 4:00 p.m.
Madrid 5:00 p.m.
Moscow 7:00 p.m
Paris 5:00 p.m.
Sidney 3:00 a.m. (next day)
Tokyo 1:00 a.m. (next day)
 

Help us improve! We welcome your corrections and suggestions.